UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health    |   DGSOM    |   Radiology    |   Molecular and Medical Pharmacology    |   Radiation Oncology    |   GPB Translate:
UCLA Health It Begins With U

Physics and Biology in Medicine Graduate Program

Careers & Alumni


Congratulations Physics and Biology in Medicine Graduate Students!


Yu Gao, PhD
Thesis: Towards early treatment response prediction using longitudinal distortion-free diffusion-weighted magnetic resonance imaging
Committee Co-Chairs: Peng Hu, PhD and Daniel Low, PhD

John Ginn, MS, PhD
Thesis: Development and Evaluation of Intra-Fraction Motion Management Techniques for Magnetic Resonance Image Guided Radiotherapy
Committee chair: James Lamb, PhD

Anthony Hardy, MS, PhD
Thesis: Evaluating Size-Specific Dose Estimate (SSDE) as an Estimate of Organ Doses Derived from Monte Carlo Simulations of CT Exams
Committee chair: Michael McNitt-Gray, PhD

Kaley Woods, MS, PhD
Thesis: A Sparse Orthogonal Collimator for Small Animal Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy Using Rectangular Aperture Optimization
Committee chair: Ke Sheng, PhD

Xinran Zhong, MS, PhD
Thesis: Advancing Prostate Cancer Characterization via Improving the Quantitative Interpretation of Multi-parametric MRI (mp-MRI)
Committee Chair: Kyung Sung, PhD


Tess Armstrong, MS, PhD
Thesis: Free-Breathing Radial Magnetic Resonance Imaging Quantification of Fat and R2*
Committee chair: Holden Wu, PhD

John Hoffman, PhD
Thesis: Characterizing and Minimizing the Impacts of Diagnostic Computed Tomography Acquisition and Reconstruction Parameter Selection on Quantitative Emphysema Scoring
Committee chair: Michael McNitt-Gray, PhD

Angelia Landers, MS, PhD
Thesis: Fully Automated Radiation Therapy Treatment Planning through Knowledge-Based Dose Predictions
Committee chair: Ke Sheng, PhD

Thomas Martin, MS, PhD
Thesis: Improved Quantitative Abdominal Imaging using Motion Detection, Characterization, and Compensation in MRI and Low Dose CT Perfusion
Committee chair: Kyung Sung, PhD

Dylan O'Connell, MS, PhD
Thesis: Development, validation, and translation of a respiratory motion model-based 4DCT technique for use as a clinical protocol for radiation therapy treatment planning
Committee chair: Daniel Low, PhD

Jennifer Steers, MS, PhD
Thesis: Quantifying and Improving Error Sensitivity of Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy Quality Assurance
Committee chair: Benedick Fraass, PhD

Davis Woodworth, PhD
Thesis: Structural, Microstructural, and Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging Measures of the Brain and Spinal Cord are Associated with Neurological Symptoms and Chronic Pain in Patients with Cervical Stenosis
Committee chair: Benjamin Ellingson, PhD


Eric Aliotta, MS, PhD
Thesis: In Vivo Quantification of Cardiac Microstructure with Convex Optimized Diffusion Weighted MRI
Committee chair: Daniel Ennis, PhD

Zohaib Iqbal, MS, PhD
Thesis: Evaluation of Human Brain Metabolism using Five-Dimensional Echo Planar J-resolved Spectroscopic Imaging and Covariance J-Resolved Spectroscopy
Committee chair: M. Albert Thomas, PhD

Dan Nguyen, MS, PhD
Thesis: Deterministic Direct Aperture Optimization Using Multiphase Piecewise Constant Segmentation
Committee chair: Ke Sheng, PhD

Andrew Surmak, MS, PhD
Thesis: Estrogen Sulfotransferase-Mediated Imaging with Positron Emission Tomography in Moyamoya Syndrome
Committee chair: Jorge Barrio, PhD

Brendon Villegas, MS, PhD
Thesis: The Differentiation of neurodegenerative disease using the Positron Emission Tomography (PET) radiotracer [F-18]FDDNP and the ante mortem binding confirmation with post mortem correlation in a select case of Progressive Supranuclear Palsy (PSP)
Committee chair: Jorge Barrio, PhD

Da Wang, MS, PhD
Thesis: M1-space Under-sampling Fast Phase Contrast Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Committee chair: Peng Hu, PhD

Victoria Yu, MS, PhD
Thesis: Improving Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) radiotherapy outcome through personalized biological modeling and optimization
Committee chair: Ke Sheng, PhD


Tai Dou, PhD
Thesis: Applications of Fast Helical CT Imaging in Breathing Motion Model and Lung Functional Imaging
Committee chair: Daniel Low, PhD

Robert Harris, MS, PhD
Thesis: pH-weighted Molecular Magnetic Resonance Imaging in Gliomas
Committee chair: Benjamin Ellingson, PhD

Kyle McMillan, PhD
Thesis: Estimating Radiation Dose Metrics for Patients Undergoing Tube Current Modulation CT Scans
Committee chair: Michael McNitt-Gray, PhD

John Neylon, PhD
Thesis: Towards On-line Adaptive Therapy through the Automation and Acceleration of Processes on Graphics Processing Units
Committee chair: Anand Santhanam, PhD

Yanisley Valenciaga, MS, PhD
Thesis: Investigation of scintillation light extraction and sharing for high resolution Positron Emission Tomography detectors
Committee chair: Arion Hadjioannou, PhD